December 22, 2017

SEC Commissioner Nominees: Confirmed

Last night, the Senate confirmed the nominations of Rob Jackson and Hester Peirce to serve as SEC Commissioners by unanimous consent. And before that happened, here was the news courtesy of Snell & Wilmer’s Jon Cohen (also see this Cooley blog):

I see that Senator Baldwin has backed off her threat to block the nominations of Robert Jackson and Hester Peirce after receiving their responses to the questions Senator Baldwin posed. It is also worth noting that Kara Stein’s term has ended and she is holding over. Mike Piwowar’s term will end this coming summer. And Robert Jackson, if confirmed, will take over a term ending June 5, 2019. This leaves a lot of room for this Administration to influence the composition of the SEC.

Broc Romanek